The 10-Year Packet. Or Some Other Suitable Length of Time.

The value of something often suggested by people who know stuff about resumes.

If you’re in the market for a job, as many of us are, it helps to have all the information on hand to enter into whatever application needs filling out. I recently stopped procrastinating and made my own little master copy of all the jobs I’ve worked since I started working.

Included in this list are things like the job title, company, address and phone number, supervisor’s name, wage history, and a really good description of what I did there. I was teaching at a school that called this the “10-year packet”, but mine goes back farther than 10 years. As much of a pain in the ass as this sounds like, it’s nothing compared to having to fill out the same information over and over on different company websites. Now, I can just copy and paste from my master file. Dates of employment? No problem, because I took the time to figure all of that out and it’s in the master file. I even printed a hard copy just in case, and it’s backed up on a separate drive.

This seems really intuitive, but especially if you’ve had quite a few jobs over the years, it’s easy to forget something you’ve done. If filling out job applications makes you want to eat your own face, this makes the experience much less painful.

That is all.

Author: Hontz

I am the best author at least one of you has ever read. There is no chance that after reading my blog you will think, "What an absolute weirdo."

Leave a Reply

